RSS

Gender Roles

13 Sep

While working on my Master’s Degree in Family Studies, my favorite theory has been the social learning theory.  Basically this states we do what we are taught.  In our text it explains there is a social learning theory that relates to gender.  Essentially it states we believe what we do about gender because of what we are taught.  This relates to the roles we fulfill in our relationships and how we define ourselves based on our sex.

If you have paid attention at all to this past week in the NFL, you know several players have been arrested, suspended, and/or indicted.  Specifically speaking of the cases of Ray Rice and Adrian Peterson.  Now before I continue let me say I COMPLETELY DISAGREE WITH HOW THEY TREATED THEIR SPOUSE (in Rice’s case) AND THEIR SON (in Peterson’s case) and if the details of the offenses are true, they deserve in my opinion to be punished accordingly.  However, if the social learning theory is true this is such a bigger issue than Ray RIce and Adrian Peterson.  It is a systems issue that they were some where along the way taught that is how you treat a child or that is how you treat your spouse.  Could it be Ray Rice was taught that is how men handle their business?  Could Adrian Peterson have been taught that is the father’s right and responsibility? I think until we as a society change our perception of what is appropriate behavior and model that for our children, more of the sad situations will happen.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Gender Roles

  1. Brittney Lasley

    September 14, 2014 at 12:57 am

    Hey Joanna,

    That is very interesting that you bring up the issues taking place in the NFL. The Ray Rice issue is kind of hard for me to comment on because the woman stayed married to him as if he didn’t do anything wrong. I also heard views about his wife hitting him as well. I will say for so long I believed men should not hit women until I had a brother. I am not going to say it is oaky for men to hit women, but I also think women should not be allowed to abuse men and hit them as much as they would like. Unfortunately society does not see this as a problem. For example if you heard about Beyoncé’s sister hitting Jay Z several time on the elevator and the media did not talk much about it. However if the tables were turned the situation would have been all over the media. Far as the Adrian Peterson situation is a little personal to me because me and his wife are childhood friends and still talk to this day. However I have not crossed that line to ask what exactly happened nor can I say if it is true or not, but at the same time society blows things up when someone famous is involved. I agree that if both situations are true it could have definitely been from social learning theory, but also it could have been from anger that needs to be worked on or helped with. With both situations kind of ties together with how our course book talks about males and aggressive behavior.

    Brittney

     
  2. Leslie Guditis

    September 18, 2014 at 3:07 pm

    Yes, Joanna! I couldn’t agree with you more! It is definitely a systemic issue, and something needs to change at a really core level, in order for things to be different …. in a bigger way.

    Dr. G

     

Leave a comment