RSS

Disney Princesses

01 Nov

If you break down Disney movies, they are filled with negative views for both genders.  We are taught a man is supposed to ride in on a horse and save the damsel in distress.  We are taught all men are romantic.  We are taught the couple lives happily ever after.  These common opinions about Disney movies have been around forever.  I have had my opinions and because of them have not paraded these movies in front of my children.  If they want to watch them great, but they are encouraged to watch other things as well, play outside with the basketball, paint pictures, etc.  But then today someone posted an article on Facebook that just sent me through the roof.  The title is What Disney Princesses would look like with Realistic Waistlines.  Someone went in and redid the waist lines of Pocohontas, Ariel, Jasmine, and Elsa to make them more realistic and you know what, they look great.  We live in a world where pretty much every woman I have ever met has or has had some sort of body image issue.  When I was in high school I was a size six but my best friend was a four so I thought I was fat.  I would kill to be a size six now!  I digress, children soak everything in!  Just today we were watching the trailer for Fast and the Furious 7, a guilty pleasure of mine.  I had seen the beginning of the trailer so I did not think it was a big deal if my three year old boy saw the car racing but then it changed to introducing the bad guy.  My three year old says to me, mom he is the bad guy, I am good guy?  At THREE YEARS OLD, he can pick out who the good and bad guy are in a movie (and this was not completely evident in the trailer).  If my three year old can do that I can absolutely believe my seven year old daughter sees the pictures of the Disney princessess and notices their waist size just like she notices their hair color or eye color.  At seven years old she might not think she is less than but I can guarantee those messages she learns now will affect her body image when she is 13 years old.  We have got to do something about this.  However this is a huge issue.  It completely ties in with strip clubs, football players or former coaches endorsing restaurants like Hooters, and photoshopping.  Most women do not have a size two waistline with size 42 DD bust.  We need to start somewhere and I think it begins with having a strong, independent woman who is a size eight and wears it well.

To read the article please follow this link…http://hellogiggles.com/disney-princesses-look-like-realistic-waistlines

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Disney Princesses

  1. Matt

    November 5, 2014 at 9:30 am

    Woah, two posts in one day. Quite the endeavor.

     
  2. Leslie Guditis

    November 23, 2014 at 11:39 am

    Great, Joanna! It’s so interesting to me how we kind of have this “recipe” for a story, and it includes very traditional roles. Very few writers veer from this recipe, since it has worked for all these years. However, it most definitely perpetuates the gender stereotypes. Even with the education we have, these stereotypes continue, and I honestly don’t think most people think about it! I’m not judging individuals. It’s a societal problem. Teaching this course just makes me think about it (and get upset about it) more. 🙂
    Dr. G

     

Leave a comment